Hornillos – Castrojeritz

No kilometres today….

You won’t believe that just at bedtime, I got struck down with a very bad case of gastro…very bad.

I was up and down all night.  I even considered sleeping on the bathroom floor at one stage, but I got cold.  I thought my poor bunk mates must have been disturbed my antics, but the snorers were still snoring each time I returned to my bunk. 

When it was time for breakfast, I thought I’d go and try a black cup of tea.  One of the lovely pilgrims offered to make me a piece of dry toast.  Another tried to give me a mandarin.   Another pilgrim said we should swap numbers in case I needed anything, and he was happy to do some advance bookings for me if I needed.  There is often so much goodness in people and I very much appreciated their kindness.

I already had a place booked for tonight, but it was way too early to go there yet, so I got a blanket and lay on the common room lounge where I was for a while.  Eventually, I decided it was time to take a taxi to my next location. 

The albergue cleaner called the taxi, and it turned out that a young Korean girl in the albergue next door also needed a taxi to the same place.  She is travelling with her dog, and the dog needs a rest.  So it worked out well we got to share the cost.  She is a lovely girl and her English is perfect.

On arriving at my next albergue, I asked if they had a private room.  I really needed some sleep and privacy after last night.  They did, but it’s a large room and more expensive than I would have liked, but I just didn’t care.

I came into my room and pretty much went to sleep for most of the rest of the day.  When I woke up, I thought I’d try  little wander down the street, but I didn’t get far.  There’s not a chance that I can walk tomorrow.  I’m not well and haven’t eaten for 24 hours, so I have to be smart and take things easy.

I can’t imagine what caused this.  It wasn’t last nights food, or other people that ate there  would be ill too.

Bloody unbelievable!  

On the plus side, it’s nice to be curled up in a warm and comfy bed when you’re not well, even though it’s not my first preference.

So another taxi day tomorrow.   Sooner or later, I’ll feel much better and be able to carry on.

Seen on the church near my accommodation.
Out my bedroom window.
Sign above the bar made mu chuckle.
Castle ruins on top of the hill.

Accommodation…

Acienlaguas  the albergue was $25 AUD.  I swapped it out for a large family room for $104 AUD. 

13 thoughts on “Hornillos – Castrojeritz

  1. rosefrombrisbane

    So sorry to hear this Kay. You really have copped it! Good idea to rest up, if it doesn’t ease up soon I think I’d be looking for a Dr. Drink plenty of water, although, that might have been the source of the bug??

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. kcocoanne

    Oh Kay, sorry to hear of the misadventure …. bummer. Wise decision to rest up and take it easy. It will pass in time. You are in my thoughts. Wishing you a speedy recovery.🙏

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Janette Gill

    I hope you feel better soon. You’re such an inspiration but good to see common sense that priory. Take care of yourself first. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment