Csstrojeritz to Fromista

Friday 19th April.

0 km day.. taxi

Even though I had slept most of the day I still had a good night’s sleep.

I woke feeling much better but still under par.  A taxi today was a very sensible idea.

I arrived in Fromista very early but was very fortunate to be able to check into a hotel I thought I’d already booked, but they couldn’t find my booking.   They had a room available anyway, so all was well.

I was hoping to find a laundry in the town, but there isn’t one.  This could be a business opportunity for someone.   So I handwashed a few things and then rested some more.

I eventually went out and wandered around the town.  I found somewhere for lunch, and even though I didn’t feel much like it, I felt much better afterwards.  I’m definitely on the improvement.

Later on, I found Paul the lovely Irish pilgrim who was very helpful and encouraging the other day and great company.  Then, later on, I bumped into Christian and his father in law who I’ve been seeing on and off now for a while.  They’re always interesting, fun, and sweet.  Christian is doing a great job practising his English.   I have absolutely no Portuguese, so the translator app gets a pounding.  It makes for an interesting time.

So tomorrow I’m back on foot.  I don’t have a reservation, I couldn’t get one, so I’m just going to ‘wing it’.  It’s definitely hard to book any private accommodation, which is a premium.   So, I’m even more grateful for any of the private places I’ve had.

Would you believe…. one of the churches in town  had a concert tonight of organ music and Gregorian chant.  I’d had every intention of going when I found out about it but completely forgot until it was too late.  I’m going to put that down to brain fog.

Out of my bedroom window this morning.

Accommodation..

Hotel San Martin

Private room. Very nice hotel €50 single. Excellent.

5 thoughts on “Csstrojeritz to Fromista

  1. bcwrigley

    Have never gotten to ask this question to a friend …just very curious as a fellow walker who has never repeated a path …why are you walking a path you’ve already done? 

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. kayfuzz Post author

      Well.. I was planning for Fuzz and I to walk the Via Francigena sud, but his heart just wasn’t in it. I still wanted to walk, but it wasn’t game to walk that way alone as it’s quite isolated and I thought this way might be nice to do at a different time of year than when I walked before. It’s certainly a very beautiful time of year. I walked the 11 years ago… it’s funny how the memory fades😄

      Like

      Reply
  2. kcocoanne

    Happy and relief to hear you are picking up! Take it easy as you go along ….. can’t stop a good woman down!, lol! Buen Camino👣👍.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment