Carrion de los Contes- Calzadilla de la Cueza

Sunday 21st April 2024

17.7km  26.393 steps

What a night!  It was bloody freezing in my little room for three people, which I had originally been happy with.  It wasn’t until I got to bed that I realised it was like sleeping in  public toilet with tiles floor to ceiling.  ‘Cold as a whitches tit’ barely comes close.

They had blankets, so I got a couple of those. They were so heavy and uncomfortable.  I also had my sleeping bag and I was wearing most of my clothes.  The bed was hard, the pillow hard and too high.  Through the night, I took my puffer jacket off and used it as a pillow. 

The church bells rang on the hour and half hour until midnight.

Eventually, I fell asleep, and before 6am, one of my roommates’ alarm went off.  He slept through it! 

I just got up and started packing and getting ready to go when the little hermit man who runs the place rushed in and opened all the windows.  As if it wasn’t cold enough already….ffs!

It was a chilly start, but it was not too bad once I got going.  My feet held up fairly well, too, but the terrain was flat, and even I’m glad to say so, they weren’t truly tested

The walk was flat, sunny, with a  strong wind at my back through very pretty farmland.

After arriving in the town of Calzadilla de la Cueza, I really hoped I could snaffle a private room.  Luck was on my side.   I got a private room to my surprise and gratitude.  They have a fabulous menu for €15 and a buffet breakfast.   Treating myself seemed to be my reward for last night, so I had a fabulous lunch, and I’m going to pig out tomorrow at breakfast too.

I had already done my chores before lunch, so there was nothing to do afterwards but rest.  Wow! Did I rest.  I fell asleep and was out cold for must be about 4 hours.

I’m in an albergue tomorrow, but I’ve been to this one before, so I’m stopping there deliberately even though last time it was a private room.

Can I be lucky again and upgrade?

Very chilly start after a chilly night.
A little van set up a coffee stop along the way.  It was so nice to have a hot chocolate.
There used to be a nice graffiti thing on this wall.  I’ll have to look it up on my old photos.

I think it said something like…’ Don’t stop walking until the shadows disappear ‘  or something like that.

Getting close to tonight’s town.

Accommodation..

Haostal Camino Real. 

Nice, great fòd.  Very clean and comfortable, and I was very grateful for a private room.   €41.00 room.  €15.00  for a 3 course dinner or lunch.  €10.00 b/fast. 

9 thoughts on “Carrion de los Contes- Calzadilla de la Cueza

    1. kayfuzz Post author

      Enjoy the warm weather. This is bloody freezing. My tummy is very much improved and back to normal thank you.
      Fingers crossed that’s the end of that.
      Looks like you’re going well. I’m loving your photos. They’re bringing back some very nice memories.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  1. Liz Franklin

    sounds like an uncomfortable night but got you up early & on the road. Happy travels & glad your feet got rested on the even terrain- liz

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment