Leon – Villadngos del Paramo

Saturday 28th April 2024.

21.4 km  30.572 steps

It was noisy again last night but not quite as bad as the night before.   The fact that it was raining kept people inside the bars with the doors shut instead of in the street, so the sound was more muffled.  Having said that, it got much noiser when I was getting ready to head out.  When I did head out, I understood why….  my room was straight above a kebab shop.  So the bars shut, and then the kebab shops open.  It all works perfectly well together. 

There had been quite a lot of rain through the night, and it was spitting when I left my accommodation, so I was well adorned with all my rain gear.  It pretty much rained on and off the whole of today’s walk.

I decided to walk to Villadangos today.  I took the scenic route via Villar de Mazarife last time, so I thought I’d try something different.   That and the fact that my friends Eileen and Richard are being Hospitaleros in the albergue here, and I really wanted to see them.

So after a wet and not terribly beautiful walk, I arrived, and Eileen and Richard welcomed me into their lovely warm albergue.   They gave me a hot chocolate drink and some food.  I was so very lovely to see them and we had a great catch-up.  I could have stayed longer. 

I had booked myself into a hotel a bit back up the road, so I had to back track a little.  My hotel is old but clean and comfortable and the bathroom is all mine….  still, I’m a bit sorry now that I didn’t stay in the Albergue with Eileen Richard.   Oh well…

Accommodation.

Hostal Alto Paramo $75  Booking.c.  

Clean, comfortable and on the trail.  Bar and restaurant.

The albergue in town is exceptional though.

6 thoughts on “Leon – Villadngos del Paramo

Leave a comment