Villadangos- Hospital de Orbigo

Sunday 28th April 2024

13.3 km  20.653 steps

Today was a really nice day.  I only had a short walk flat, so I was in no rush.

After breakfast, I got packed up and then wandered down the road for another chat and a coffee with Eileen and Richard.   It’s been so lovely to see them. 

Then I wandered on for another couple of k’s and popped into a bar and found some lovely Australian ladies I haven’t seen since Carrion and I had a lovely chat with them.

I finally decided to get walking again and pushed onto Hospital de Orbigo.  It’s a flat walk on a track beside the road, so there wasn’t anything of any note except it wasn’t raining or windy.  Just another day.

Walking into Hospital de Orbigo, you cross a long medieval bridge, and that was the most interesting thing I saw today, except I could see snow on the mountains in the distance.

My accommodation is lovely, so I did my chores and rested until it was time for dinner and what a treat that was.  I had the most delicious stewed beef.  It’s ages since I’ve had that sort of food, and I woofed down as much as I could.  Desert was, of course, my absolute favourite.   Flan, it’s called here, but we’d call it a creme caramel.  I shared a table and a very nice conversation with an Australian lady I haven’t met before, so I’ve had lots of Australian company today.

A beautiful sunrise to start the day.
Snow on the mountains in the distance.
Snow on the distant mountains.
Medieval bridge Hospital de Orbigo.
Medieval bridge l Hospital de Orbigo

Accommodation.

Hostal Canton Plaza $102 AUD  booking.c

Excellent hotel 10/10 from me

1 thought on “Villadangos- Hospital de Orbigo

Leave a comment