Negreira – A Pena and Piaxe

Wednesday, May 15th, 2024

9km   13.800 steps

It was a short day of 9km today.  I arrived at A Pena and Piaxe and my wonderful albergue Rectoral San Mamede da Pena. 

It’s a rainy and chilly day.  I was too early to check in and they were still cleaning, I knew I’d be too early and I was happy to just wait at the bar, but the wonderful owner of the albergue, Manuel who is a lovely and very kind man let me in and put the log fire on to keep me warm while I waited.  He even gave me a towel to use being as I no longer have mine because I threw it away as I didn’t want to carry it anymore.  I thought I was finished with albergues and dormitory life.

While I waited for the cleaner to finish, I realised  there were also private rooms here.  While the albergue is excellent and each bed has its own curtain, I decided to treat myself… let’s call it an early birthday present and a belated Mother’s Day present to myself.  So I upgraded to a private room.  It’s beautiful!  Manuel made sure the heating was on for me, too.

Anyway, the walk was absolutely beautiful even though it rained.  It was mostly in the forest, gradually climbing the whole time and I had the whole forest mostly to myself.

Looking back towards Negreira.
Rainbow.
The log fire made it nice and cosy.
The view out of my window after I upgraded.

Accommodation….                                   Rectoral San Mamede da Pena.                     It is an albergue for €17  booking.c                 It also has beautiful private rooms for €60.   Communal meal €13

2 thoughts on “Negreira – A Pena and Piaxe

Leave a comment