Cee – Finisterre

Saturday 18th May 2024

18.6 km    27.059 steps

Another morning of rain, but today was my last day.  

It seemed very strange to be putting on my walking shoes for the last time on this trip, but I was happy it was perhaps the last time I’d need my lovely red poncho for a while.  It’s really come in very handy, especially this last week.

The way was hilly as expected but beautiful even in the rain, which managed to stop when I reached the sea.  It’s a lovely coastline, and I eventually came to the gorgeous beach that Fuzz and I walked along barefoot in 2015.  I really didn’t feel like being bothered to take my shoes off, so I walked along the path instead.

The rain stopped, and the sun came out.

It’s quite a long but gentle climb up to the lighthouse at Cape Finisterre to reach the 0 km way marker.   I enjoyed that climb knowing it’s my last climb this trip and then suddenly I arrived and it’s all over!

So that’s a wrap!

I’ve walked over 800km in 44 days, independently, and I’ve carried everything I needed for that entire time on my back.
It’s amazing how little we really need.


The Romans thought Finisterre was the most westerly point (it actually isn’t) and, therefore, the end of the earth.  They thought the horizon was the line between the known and unknown worlds.  I quite like that.


I want to thank everyone who’s followed along and given me so much encouragement.  It’s very much appreciated.


I am blessed to have had the ability and opportunity to have done this.  The people I have met and the friendships I’ve formed have filled me with joy. I am truly grateful for every piece of the jigsaw that made this journey complete.

Heading out on a very wet last day.
Excited to be near the finish.
Fuzz and I walked barefoot along this beach in 2015. 
I made it!
The lighthouse.
Pilgrim on his way up to the lighthouse.
O km way marker.   No more kilometres to go.

Accommodation

Hotel Langosteira  booking.c  €38.00

Clean, good location ok for one night.

10 thoughts on “Cee – Finisterre

  1. Janette Gill

    what an amazing walk, you are such an inspiration. Congratulations, rest your feet and safe travels wherever you go next. Thank you for The blog and taking me along for The walk. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment